Eat light, lift heavy

18 Nov
Top- 3 months ago, Bottom- 11/16/13 (-17lbs)

Top- 3 months ago, Bottom- 11/16/13 (-17lbs)

“Don’t rush. Be patient with your progress. Fitness is a quest, a never ending journey and a gift we give ourselves. Don’t compare your gift and many blessings to those of others. Be grateful for your progress and you’ll find you wont have time to envy the progress of others.

Those who sprint the first miles of a marathon quickly lose pace. Those who distract themselves by looking over their shoulder at the other runners only fall out of stride and miss the beautiful view in front of them. Take your time. Your patience is a virtue”

-Chalene Johnson 

Dear 17 pounds, you will not be missed! For about 6 months my workout schedule has stayed the same (Crossfit 5 times a week) and was not seeing any changes on the scale so I knew something had to change.  Around two months ago I started focusing on what I eat for weight loss and that is when I started seeing results. I guess what they say is right; 70% diet 30% exercise! So in the picture above I have lost 17 pounds.

***On this blog I try to be as relatable and honest as possible, but when it comes to posting my weight I feel like it doesn’t help anyone. Everyone loses weight differently so when I see someone’s before and after picture and it shows their weight, I immediately compare myself to them (a habit I continually work on to quit). And that isn’t healthy for anyone’s weight loss journey or self esteem.

Losing this much has made me try harder in everything I do. This has motivated me to be the best ‘self’ that I can be. This will continually be a journey for me and I sure as hell know that it wont be easy. But this time is different; I’m happy with my eating, exercise, and where my life is going. For once, I feel like I have control over me since my parents got divorced. Two years ago I felt like my life was over and  that nothing would ever be good again. I would smoke and take pills to mask the pain and when that wouldn’t work eating and sleeping would seem to do the trick. Then in June of 2013 I started taking back control and got into CrossFit. My Dad told me “Working out is the one thing nobody can take away from you. You are in control”. And I have realized that I am in control; I am stronger than I think.

back squat

In my Olympic Lifting class, we got to try to find our new 1 rep max back squat. From a previous post I had said that my previous max was 145#….well my new max is 185#. Crazy, huh!? My coach, my friend, and I were smiling from ear to ear; we could not believe that this was my new PR! I attempted 195# but wasn’t able to do it. My new goal for next month will be 200#! It’s bold but why not, right?

2 Responses to “Eat light, lift heavy”

  1. shaneatkinson82 November 18, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    Congrats on the weight loss on the body and weight gain on the squats. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

