My Latest GAINS

26 Oct
Above are my friend, Jackie's awesome Reebok Lifters. Below are my Vibrams that I have recently been lifting in.

Above are my friend, Jackie’s awesome Reebok Lifters. Below are my Vibrams that I have recently been lifting in.

Life has been kind of hectic these past weeks, so my time to blog has been nonexistent. BUT with midterms taking over my time, I have actually made it to crossfit (which I think has helped my sanity). In one of my past posts I told you guys that I was starting an Oly class. I have been going most every Tuesday and Friday and I am in love with lifting. It is so much more than lifting up heavy weights, it’s mental as well. Lifting weights has helped my WODs; almost to RX! Since I’ve started, here are my latest gains…

In two weeks:

  • I went from a 75lb snatch to an 85lb snatch
  • A 1 rep clean of 105lb to a 1 rep hang clean of 115lb
  • A 1 max back squat of 145lb to a 2 rep back squat of 155lb

Oh yeah, did I mention I got a tattoo hours before Oly class when I hit 2 PRs?!

New tattoo before Oly!

New tattoo before Oly!

24 Day Challenge Update:

So, eating paleo has been progressively getting easier to fit in my daily life. I have enjoyed the process but give major credit to anyone who eats completely paleo 24/7.  When the challenge first started I felt dizzy at times and felt like what I was eating wasn’t enough. For me, eating needs to be a happy balance. After the challenge is over I think I will eat paleo-ish. Meaning that I will eat mostly paleo but will be adding in some carbs. What I do enjoy about the caveman diet is paleo baking (like you couldn’t tell from my past posts). I have never really enjoyed baking until I had taken up the paleolithic diet.

Weighing in on Monday so wish me luck!

Pre-Workout sweet potato and bacon! Potatoes for PRs!

Pre-Oly class sweet potato and bacon! Potatoes for PRs!

3 Responses to “My Latest GAINS”

  1. Lil Mama October 26, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Congrats! I need to do a lot of snatch/snatch balances and OHS to get my snatch better…i get that fear of bar overhead!

    • carlygatta October 30, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

      What I have been doing to help me with my snatch is doing snatch balances. They are scary at first but actually help!

      • Lil Mama October 30, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

        yes, i need more snatch balances in my life for sure 🙂 esp since Oly class is canceled the next 3 weeks…so lame

Leave a Reply

