Road Trippin’

22 Sep

photo-3
This weekend I went to Denton, Texas to see my sister’s band play. To be honest, I was kind of worried because when taking road trips it’s normal for my family to stop at a fast food restaurant or two. Luckily, the night before, my Dad and I went to the grocery store and stocked up on healthy snacks. I cooked hard boiled eggs, bought some pineapple, nuts, Kind bars, Zing bars, beef jerky, apples and almond butter. So when having these on hand it was much easier to skip the junk food.

This weekend was definitely a good test of my willpower. We stopped at multiple bakeries, fast food restaurants, an ice cream shop and a candy shop. And I’m proud to say, I didn’t binge or really eat out of my diet.

I have also started a new personal challenge of not drinking for a whole month. This might sound silly, but when you’re a 21-year-old college student it’s taboo not to drink. I started on September 5th and so far have not had a sip of alcohol! I have still gone out to the bars with friends but have been drinking water. It’s definitely not as fun but I can see it paying off in the future. I told myself after the challenge is up I will have one beer (I am a beer girl) then try again for another month.

photo-4

FALL IS HERE. A tall Pumpkin Spice Latte with soy milk and no whipped-cream is only 200 calories! Had this on the way home 😉

photo-5

Found this gem at the candy shop and had to put it on

4 Responses to “Road Trippin’”

  1. Lil Mama September 22, 2013 at 8:35 am #

    I need a 30 day no drinking challenge-I definitely indulge in a few cocktails Friday and Saturday! Great job on the snacks, I’m a fast food eater too on the road

    • carlygatta September 22, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      It’s not as bad as I thought, but can’t wait for the month to be over 😉 haha October is the best time for Fall beers!
      If you do the challenge let me know!
      And thanks! I’ve still got some snacks left!

      Carly

      • Lil Mama September 22, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

        we’re going on a cruise in 10 days but once we come back I think i’m going to detox until Thanksgiving-i agree I LOVE me some pumpkin ales and fall beers.

      • carlygatta September 23, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

        Have fun on your cruise!!

Leave a Reply

